How About This?

The following three questions are taken from the modular exam covering units B5, C5 and P5 of Twentyfirst Century Science sat by Year 11s on 18 June 2008.

There are 14 marks for these questions out of 42 available for the full nine questions. The time allowed was 40 minutes.

Tags:

6 Responses to “How About This?”

  1. dvnutrix Says:

    I find those diagrams clunky beyond belief.

    Q. 1 depicts zygote -> embryo -> baby girl which is a tad weird but then leaps from baby girl -> adult woman without mentioning puberty (implied, but even so). Would you notionally place puberty at the end of B or the beginning of C in this diagram?

    In fact, I’m going to wimp out and say that I can’t answer the meiosis question in that form without knowing more about how it was taught to them. Because, strictly speaking, the prophase of meiosis 1 initiates during fetal life nips into suspension during ‘childhood’and resumes post-puberty when the secondary oocyte is formed. You can crudely argue that the secondary oocyte is the female gamete in which the first meiotic division has completed and the second has begun.

    I’m obviously being so stupid about this that I should have my thinking privileges revoked. I’m currently questioning the questions on the Twentyfirst Century Science paper. The ignominy.

  2. brianthesecond Says:

    I do not believe my eyes.

  3. valueaddedwater Says:

    Badly laid out, inprecise questions, that force guesses rather testing actual knowledge and understanding.

    Its bollocks

  4. softestpawn Says:

    I don’t know anything about the first one (not my area); the second seems straightforward but I don’t know if it’s appropriate for the age; the last seems spot on as far as I can recall, and asks the right questions I would expect at that age to query voltage, current and resistance.

  5. coatgal Says:

    This is a foundation paper, right? Which has a maximum grade of C? This kind of ‘ring around’ and ‘give the letter’ question only appears on the foundation papers in my subject, which theoretically enable pupils with low literacy to demonstrate their knowledge. The higher papers have a lot more writing… Is this not the case in science?

  6. kelvinthroop Says:

    Sorry coatgal. It’s the Higher paper.

Leave a Reply

